Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Library Course Guide for Political Science 232
This guide can help you with your research project for American Politics II. Use the tabs above to navigate the guide.
If you get stuck at any point during your research, feel free to ask a librarian!
Resources for the POLS 232 Research Project
Provides full text access to over 620 online reference works (encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotations, bilingual dictionaries, measurement conversions, images, and more).
News from Congress
Provides full text access by topic, page number, committee, "exact phrases or words," bill number, byline or reporter and by Boolean full-text and date searches. Detailed floor votes dating back to August 1983 are easily retrieved.The CQ news team covers virtually every act of Congress, delivering nonpartisan news and analysis.
America's News (NewsBank)
Provides the complete electronic editions of approximately 1979 U.S. news sources and news video clips, covering local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Texas content: 98 news sources including Austin-American Statesman (1989-present), Dallas Morning News (1984-present), San Antonio Express News (1990-present), Houston Chronicle (1985-present), and Seguin Gazette-Enterprise (2005-present).
QuickSearch for Political Science & Government
QuickSearch allows you to search several databases and the library catalog at once. The QuickSearch below is limited to full-text resources within the discipline of Politics & Government. Remember that QuickSearch does not include all of TLU's resources and does not allow you to use many of the specialized features of individual databases.
Goals for the library session:
- Learn about effective keyword searching
- Learn to find, recognize, and obtain authoritative information from selected sources