Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
First source for keywords: Your course materials!
The list of research project topics Dr. Walsh gave you provides great keywords, as do the assigned readings for the course. Here's a link to the research projects topics list:
Encyclopedias can supply a good overview of a topic. These overviews will include keywords that can help you develop a search. Search this database for encyclopedia articles:
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to over 620 online reference works (encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotations, bilingual dictionaries, measurement conversions, images, and more).
Newspapers contain good overviews of current events, including terminology that can be used as keywords. The TLU Library has several newspaper databases. Try starting with:
America's News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Provides the complete electronic editions of approximately 1979 U.S. news sources and news video clips, covering local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Texas content: 98 news sources including Austin-American Statesman (1989-present), Dallas Morning News (1984-present), San Antonio Express News (1990-present), Houston Chronicle (1985-present), and Seguin Gazette-Enterprise (2005-present).
General library resources for research in political science
The library has created a Subject Page devoted to resources for Political Science research. The Subject Page is found at this link:
Political Science and Government.
You may also follow this path from the Library Resources web page:
Library Resources web page > Databases by Subject > Political Science and Government