The library provides access to a variety of online services for students. These instructions explain how faculty should create links within BrightSpace that will be sure to work for off-campus students.
Fair Use and Copyright Considerations
To Link to a Library Resource within BrightSpace
If you want to place a link to an electronic library resource within BrightSpace, just email librarian@tlu.edu with the citation you obtain from a library database or library catalog. E-book citations can be obtained from PrimoDiscovery or from Ebook Collection, Gale EBooks, JSTOR and SpringerLink. Include the name of the course where the link needs to be placed and the library will send the link to Rodrick Shao who will place it in BrightSpace for you.
However, if you wish to create the link yourself and place it in BrightSpace, you may do so by reading on. To link to an electronic library resource, you will need to use two elements: the ezproxy tag and the permanent, direct URL.
The ezproxy tag is a prefix that routes the link through the TLU login. The permanent, direct URL for an article is often identified in a library database as a "permalink" and it is provided on the detailed screen of an article. Copying and pasting a link from a browser's address box may or may not be a "permanent, direct URL."
- Obtain the permanent URL for the article or e-book.
- Append the ezproxy tag to the front of the permanent URL. This is the ezproxy tag: https://ezproxytlu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=
- Notice that the ezproxy tag ends with an equal sign.When you are done, your permanent URL with ezproxy will look something like this:
https://ezproxytlu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/
To Discover the Permanent, Direct URL to an E-Book
- To discover what e-books can be linked to from within BrightSpace, do this:
- Go to Library Resources page at https://bulldogs.tlu.edu/library/
- Click PrimoDiscovery (online+physical) and conduct a search.
- When you retrieve a list of hits, use the facets in left side to refine your results list
- Click the PrimoDiscovery permalink for the e-book you want to include in BrightSpace.
- If you need assistance, send an email to librarian@tlu.edu.
- To see a list of e-resources available, go to https://bulldogs.tlu.edu/library/databasesTitle.html . Notice that you can access music scores, music recordings, articles (periodicals, newspapers), encyclopedias, as well as e-books via
To Link to a PDF You Upload within BrightSpace
You do not need to be concerned with either the e-zproxy tag or a permanent, direct URL for PDFs you personally upload to BrightSpace.
Remote Access to Online Databases
- Remote access is available to TLU faculty, staff, and currently enrolled students.
- On the Library Resources page, click the link entitled "Databases by Title." When you click one of the databases, such as Academic Search Complete, you may be prompted to log in with your LAST name (only) and TLU ID number. Do not share your login information.
- If you have difficulty logging in, email librarian@tlu.edu or telephone the library at (830) 372-8100 during Library Hours.
To Obtain Help for Your Students Who Will Be Conducting Research
Include any or all of the following links in your BrightSpace course
- Publications by Title or Primo Journal Search - Use either of these resources to see if the library can provide you the full-text to a specific journal title.
- Databases by Subject - Use these subject-specific guides to identify key e-resources. You can copy and paste the URL that appears in the browser address box for a specific subject. For example, the URL for a subject guide pertaining to History is: https://bulldogs.tlu.edu/library/dbHistory.html
- PrimoDiscovery - Use this resource to find articles and e-books. To locate an e-book, search for it in PrimoDiscovery and when you obtain a list of hits, use the facets on left side to refine your results to online resources with a Source Type of book.
- librarian@tlu.edu - Email a question to a librarian.
- Bibliographic Citation Styles - Use this resource for assistance in creating citations.
