Skip to Main Content

Blumberg Memorial Library

Remote Access

Remote Access for Students

The library provides access to a variety of online services for students. These instructions explain how to access the library's online services from off-campus.

Library Resources - Two Access Methods

  1. Access the library home page at https://libguides.tlu.edu/home
  2. Go to MyTLU and login to the portal. Then, in left column, click the link "TLU Library."

Remote Access to Online Databases

  1. Remote access is available to TLU faculty, staff, and currently enrolled students.
  2. On the library homepage, click the link entitled "Databases by Title."
  3. If you are on an off-campus PC, when you click one of the databases, such as Academic Search Complete, you will be prompted to log in EITHER with your Microsoft credentials OR with your LAST name (only) and TLU ID number. Do not share your login information. 
  4. If you have difficulty logging in, you can get help in three ways:
    • click the "Ask A Question" tab (to the right on all library webpages)
    • email librarian@tlu.edu
    • telephone the library at (830) 372-8100 during Library Hours.

Available on the Library Web Site

  • Library Directory - Use this resource to get contact information for a specific librarian to ask for help.
  • Library Mobile App - If you want to use your phone to access library resources, use this webpage for instructions on how to download the free library mobile app to your phone.
  • PrimoDiscovery - Use this resource to search for full-text material (books, journals, videos, music recordings, music scores, etc.) that you can view and/or download immediately. You can also locate library-owned physical material (books, journals, DVDs, etc.) that you can request the library to charge out to you and then send to you. After you land on the PrimoDiscovery page, click the Sign In button (upper right corner of next screen) to gain access to all the library resources to which students are entitled.
  • Publications by Title - Use this resource to see if the library can provide you full-text to a specific e-book or e-journal.
  • Journals by Title or ISSN - Use this button on the PrimoDiscovery page to see if the library can provide you the full-text to a specific journal title. You can also limit a Journals search by a subject area.
  • Databases by Subject - Use these subject-specific web pages to identify key resources that your professor may require you to use to complete an assignment.
  • Research Guides by Subject - Use these subject-specific web pages developed by librarians to learn how to conduct research. Be sure to look at the Research Tips guide to learn how to develop keywords; find a book or article; and evalute, organize, and cite sources.
  • Make A Request - Use this resource to submit an online Interlibrary Loan request for a journal article or book.
  • Ask a Librarian - Use this resource to get help from a librarian by chat, email, or text
  • Other Libraries - Use this webpage to learn about nearby libraries

Avoiding Plagiarism

  • Plagiarism - Use this resource from the American Psychological Association to learn what it is and how to avoid it.
  • NoodleTools Express - Use this resource from NoodleTools to create a single MLA, APA, or Chicago-style reference and copy and paste it into your document. No login required.
  • Bibliographic Citation Styles - Use this library webpage for assistance in creating citations.

TLU Resources

  • MyTLU - Use this to login to the TLU courseware (My courses).
  • TLU Web Mail - Use this to login to your TLU email account.

TexShare Library Cards

Many academic libraries in Texas will allow non-students to use library resources on-site. However, to check out items from other libraries, you should apply for a TexShare Library Card. Many Texas academic libraries belong to the TexShare Library Card program. The library participates in this program, which allows currently enrolled TLU students to go to another participating library and borrow books for free. The TexShare rules are as follows:

  1. You must acquire a TexShare Library Card from the Blumberg Memorial Library. To receive a TexShare card, you must be currently enrolled in TLU classes and you must be in good standing at the TLU Library (no outstanding fines, fees, or overdue items).
  2. Each participating library has unique borrowing rules for TexShare Library Card users. To find out the names of participating libraries, visit TexShare online.