Blumberg Memorial Library Policies

Archives – The library is the repository for TLU archives. The materials in the archives are for in-library research only and may not be removed from the library building. To arrange for access, contact Archivist Stephen P. Anderson (sanderson@tlu.edu).

ELCA Archives – The archives of the Southwestern Texas Synod of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA) is conveniently located in the Synod office building near the southern entrance to the campus. The ELCA archives are not affiliated with Blumberg Memorial Library. Interested individuals may inquire with the ELCA Archivist (archives@swtsynod.org).

Rare Books and Special Collections Reading Room – The library has significant holdings of non-circulating monographs, rare books, and serials reflecting the Lutheran heritage of Texas Lutheran University. The Rare Books and Special Collections Reading Room is located on the first level in Room 117. To arrange for access, contact the University Librarian, Prof. Mark Dibble, extension 8109, mdibble@tlu.edu.

Government Documents – Blumberg Memorial Library is a selective Federal depository library. The library has online access to most of its government depository items as well as a small collection of print and media items. Records for government documents are included in the library’s catalog.

Children's Literature – The Helen Weiss collection of picture books and other children's literature is housed on the first floor of the library. This circulating collection is used mainly by students in education classes. The materials in this collection are designated in the online catalog with the location of “Children’s Literature.”

Media and Music Collection – The library’s collection of CD-ROMs, DVDs, and print music scores is located on the second floor. In addition, many music scores and music recordings are available through the library’s online databases, which can be accessed from the library’s website. The materials in this collection are designated in the online catalog with the locations of Media or Music Scores.

Obsolete Media – In general, the library no longer supports obsolete media, such as microform, microfiche, microfilm, audio or video tapes.

Policy on Patron Privacy – The library honors the privacy of its users in accordance with the Code of Ethics of the American Library Association and the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA).