Blumberg Memorial Library Policies

Collection Development

• Faculty members may request items for purchase and they will be considered on a case-by-case basis, subject to budgetary constraints.
• TLU faculty, staff, and students may make an automatic purchase of eBooks through the JSTOR database. If users encounter an eBook in JSTOR that wil not provide full-text access, they should contact a librarian.

Requests to Purchase Library Resources

• Electronic Resources – The library provides information in electronic, print, and media formats. The library provides access to online databases that are available through cooperative agreements with the TexShare Library Consortium and other groups. The library also subscribes to non-TexShare databases. Faculty may submit suggestions for the addition of electronic resources via the library’s “Make a Request” link on the library home page, or by contacting the University Librarian or the librarian of their choice.

• Collection Development – Responsibility for the selection of library materials is shared between the University Librarian and the library staff. The University Librarian has the final responsibility for the maintenance and development of the library collection, facilities, and services. Department chairs and faculty, both full-time and adjunct, are invited to recommend library purchases to support teaching in their disciplines. Librarians may also select and purchase materials in all subject areas. The library Choice Reviews Online database may be accessed from the library’s website where an online book request form is also available.

• Special Purchase Books – The library sets aside limited funds for the special purchase of books requested by individual departments. By special arrangement with JSTOR, current faculty may also request purchase of e-books that are not available online in full-text. Special purchases have the restriction that any item over $500 must be approved prior to purchase. Contact Prof. Mark Dibble, extension 8109, mdibble@tlu.edu.

• Serials – Requests for periodical subscriptions should be placed with the Electronic Resources Librarian. Such requests should be accompanied by a rationale for each title, since a subscription is a long-term budgetary commitment. Electronic journals are the preferred format; the library does not purchase print journal subscriptions if an electronic version is available, unless there is an overriding rationale for such an acquisition.

Gift Policy

• The library's collection development standards are applied to all donations [see General Policy]. A Deed of Gift form must be completed for all gifts. The library reserves the right to select items it needs from gift materials and to dispose of the remaining items as the library deems suitable. The library does not normally accept collections of materials with restrictions that require special handling or prevent integration of items into the general library collection. Museum or archival-quality objects are considered on a case-by-case basis. The library will not accept donated materials that are not outright gifts. The library cannot perform any appraisals of value. Prospective donors who require monetary appraisals for income tax purposes must arrange for an outside appraisal before items are donated to the library, since this cannot be done after donated materials are processed. Contact the University Librarian, Prof. Mark Dibble, extension 8109, mdibble@tlu.edu.