Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If you have any questions about locating, evaluating, incorporating, and citing sources, please feel free to ask a librarian.
Welcome to the research guide for Political Science and Government at TLU!
1: Find background information in reference books
2. Need books or ebooks? Search the Library Catalog
The Library Catalog is the gateway to finding books in political science. Search the catalog for books about political parties, United States Politics and Government, or public administration.
Blumberg Memorial Library arranges materials by the Library of Congress Classification System. Books on political science generally fall into the following call numbers:
Political Science J
How to find a book
3. Need articles? Search the databases
Databases are large, searchable collections of articles, including scholarly articles. To see all of TLU's databases, visit the Blumberg Memorial Library Resources page and select either Databases by Subject or Databases by Title. The Databases by Subject pages also include links to recommended websites.
Here are a few key databases for political science:
Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for nearly 3,200 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Provides full text access by topic, page number, committee, "exact phrases or words," bill number, byline or reporter and by Boolean full-text and date searches. Detailed floor votes dating back to August 1983 are easily retrieved.The CQ news team covers virtually every act of Congress, delivering nonpartisan news and analysis.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Provides citations to federal publications, with links to many full-text documents (provided by U.S. Govt. Printing Office).
Provides full text for nearly 250 scholarly law journals, all of which are included in Academic Search Complete.
America's News (NewsBank)
Provides the complete electronic editions of approximately 1979 U.S. news sources and news video clips, covering local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Texas content: 98 news sources including Austin-American Statesman (1989-present), Dallas Morning News (1984-present), San Antonio Express News (1990-present), Houston Chronicle (1985-present), and Seguin Gazette-Enterprise (2005-present).
QuickSearch for Political Science & Government
QuickSearch allows you to search several databases and the library catalog at once. The QuickSearch below is limited to full-text resources within the discipline of Politics & Government. Remember that QuickSearch does not include all of TLU's resources and does not allow you to use many of the specialized features of individual databases.
--Finding a particular journal--
To see if a journal or magazine is available, either online or in print, look in the Publications by Title list.
Need an item that our library doesn't own? No worries, you can email the title, author and date of what you need to email@example.com or fill out a form. We can get most (but not all) articles within 2 days and many books within 4-8 days.
For more information, visit our interlibrary loan page.
--Using databases off-campus--
If you are using an off-campus computer, you will be prompted for your last name (Not your network username but last name only) and your 8-digit TLU number.
--Evaluate and cite sources--
Ask a Librarian
TLU librarians offer in-depth research help.
Chat or Text
Ask a Question: The system will prompt you to send a text or an email, or a live chat if a librarian is available.
During library open hours, ask at the main desk for help finding what you need or help setting up an appointment with a librarian.