Reference books can provide background material and be a launching point for further research.
The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science by 
Elections in the Americas by 
The Oxford Companion to Politics of the World by The Library Catalog is the gateway to finding books in political science. Search the catalog for books about political parties, United States Politics and Government, or public administration.
Library Catalog (physical materials)
​Blumberg Memorial Library arranges materials by the Library of Congress Classification System. Books on political science generally fall into the following call numbers:
Political Science J
Law K
Databases are large, searchable collections of articles, including scholarly articles. To see all of TLU's databases, visit the Blumberg Memorial Library Resources page and select either Databases by Subject or Databases by Title. The Databases by Subject pages also include links to recommended websites.
Here are a few key databases for political science:
Provides full text for nearly 3,200 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Provides full text access by topic, page number, committee, exact phrases or words, bill number, byline or reporter and by Boolean full-text and date searches. Detailed floor votes dating back to August 1983 are easily retrieved. The CQ news team covers virtually every act of Congress, delivering nonpartisan news and analysis.
Provides citations to federal publications, with links to many full-text documents (provided by U.S. Govt. Printing Office).
Provides full text articles from newspapers and other news sources, including almost 100 Texas news sources including Austin-American Statesman (1989-present), Dallas Morning News (1984-present), San Antonio Express News (1990-present), Houston chronicle (1985-present), and Seguin Gazette-Enterprise (2005-present).
To see if a journal or magazine is available, either online or in print, look in the Publications by Title list.
Need an item that our library doesn't own? No worries, you can email the title, author and date of what you need to ill@tlu.edu or fill out a form. We can get most (but not all) articles within 2 days and many books within 4-8 days.
For more information, visit our interlibrary loan page.
If you are using an off-campus computer, you will be prompted for your last name (Not your network username but last name only) and your 8-digit TLU ID number.
For some databases, instead of being asked for your instead of your last name and ID number, you will be asked for your normal TLU network username and password (Microsoft 365 Single Sign-On).
Librarians offer in-depth research help.
During library open hours, ask at the main desk for help finding what you need. The desk is usually staffed by student workers - if you have in-depth research questions, just let them know that you want to meet with a librarian.
Click on the Ask a Question tab on the right side of a library web page. It will bring you either to live chat, or to a place where you can leave a message.
830-372-8100 (main desk)
Library directory (list of individual library staff and faculty)
