Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PRAP 130 (Spring 2014, Rinn/Shao): Organizing and citing sources

This is a research guide to help you find sources for your annotated bibliography. It was designed for PRAP 130, Databases in Information Science.

Citing Your Sources

Give credit where credit is due; cite your sources. Citing or documenting the sources used in your research serves two purposes: (1) it gives proper credit to the authors of the materials you used, and (2) it allows those who are reading your work to duplicate your research and locate the sources that you have listed as references.

Knowingly representing the work of others as your own is plagiarism. See Texas Lutheran University's discussion of "Academic Honesty & Plagiarism" (Student Handbook, p. 6). 

Use a standard bibliographic citation style approved by your professor. For this class, you will use MLA style.

Visit this page for MLA citation resources:

NoodleBib

NoodleBib is a web-based program that allows you to collect, manage, and organize bibliographic references by either typing or copying and pasting information from databases. NoodleBib allows you to create notes and bibliographies in either the MLA (Modern Language Association), APA (American Psychological Association), or Chicago styles. TLU students, faculty, and staff must create their own ID and password when first using the full version of NoodleBib. 

To set up an account

  1. Go to NoodleBib page. You should be automatically authenticated into the TLU subscription. If you are not, go to the Library Resources page, click the "Bibliographic Citations Styles" link, then click NoodleTools.
  2. To create your personal ID and password, click “choose a Personal ID.”
  3. Click on the “I am a student” button.
  4. Type in the personal ID you would like to have and then click “Check availability.”
  5. When you type in a name that is available, you will get a GREEN message saying that it is available.
  6. The next time you go to NoodleBib, you will type in your Personal ID and password.

For more help

Zotero

Zotero is another electronic tool for organizing, managing, and citing sources. It takes some time to learn, but it is a powerful tool. To learn more about Zotero, visit the TLU Library's Zotero guide:

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Amelia Koford
Contact:
Library Office 115
830-372-8138
Website