Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PRAP 130 (Spring 2014, Rinn/Shao): Book articles/chapters

This is a research guide to help you find sources for your annotated bibliography. It was designed for PRAP 130, Databases in Information Science.

Book articles/chapters

Your annotated bibliography should include at least one book article or chapter. This might be from a:

  • Print book
  • Online book
  • Reference source

Print reference sources

Reference books are a good way to begin research. They can help you launch future research by providing background material, key terms, and citations to more detailed sources. The reference collection is on the main floor of the library. Here are a few possible starting points:

Finding book articles/chapters

Electronic reference sources

Tips for Searching the Catalog

  • The library catalog is your gateway to finding books and ebooks.
  • If you don't get any useful results using your initial keywords, try synonyms or broader terms.
  • Use quotes to search phrases (for example, "digital divide")
  • When you find a good book in the catalog, follow the following steps to get to the book on the shelf:
    • Check the item's status. Books that aren't checked out will be listed as "Available" or "Not Charged."
    • Check the item's location. Most books are in the Circulating collection on the second floor. Some are in the Children's collection (northwest corner of the second floor) or the Reference collection (main floor).
    • A listed location of NetLibrary or SpringerLink indicates an ebook. These books will also contains the words [electronic resource] in the title. These books are not on the shelf; you can click through to read them in your browser.
    • Write down the complete call number. The call number is like the book's address on the shelf. Take the call number to the appropriate section of the stacks, and go alphabetically and numerically to find your book, reading one line of the call number at a time.

Call numbers on books