EndNote Basic Citation Manager

There are three methods of collecting citations in EndNote Basic:

1. Import References:  This is the most efficient way to get citations from library databases, Google Scholar or PubMed.  It either interfaces directly with a database or imports bibliographic files.
2. New Reference: This is how to type information manually into the software.  It is useful for conferences or other citations that do not have bibliographic references to import.
3. Online Search: This interface would allow you to search online sources such as PubMed or the Library of Congress but it is not optimized for TLU.

Each database interface will be slightly different.

To import individual articles:

1. Click on a title of an article.
2. Have EndNote open in the same browser.
3. Click on Cite.
4. Click on Export Citation.
5. Choose Export to EndNote Web.
6. This should automatically open EndNote and import the citation into the unfiled group.
7. File the citations into the proper group by selecting them and adding them to the group.

To import many citations from a database vendor at the same time:

1. Have EndNote open in the same browser.
2. Mark each citation with the save banner mark.
3. After finding all that you wish, click on the Saved button on the left side.
4. Inside the Saved folder, click the radio button at the top to mark all the saved citations.
5. Click on the export button.
6. On the next screen, click Export to EndNote Web.
7. This should import all of the citations into EndNote unfiled at the same time.

To optimize searching in Google Scholar, you will want to log into a Google account, create a folder for citations, enable Google Scholar to link to TLU and export the citations in your Google folder into a bibliographic file. This bibliographic file will be imported into EndNote. 

1. Go to https://Scholar.Google.com
2. Log in to your Google account.
3. On the left-hand side, click on the menu.
4. Chose Settings.
5. Chose Library Links. 
6. Search for Texas Lutheran University.
7. Click all four of the radio buttons for TLU. 
8. Go back to the Google Scholar Menu.
9. Click on My Library.
10. Create a folder for your search.
11. Run a search in Google Scholar.
12. Click on the star next to a citation you want.
13. Place the starred citation in the folder by labeling and press Done.
14. Keep collecting citations into the folder.
15. When finished collecting, go to the folder.
16. Click under the titles of the citations to search TLU holdings for the full text of the article or for free versions of the article.
17. Download PDFs into your own MS folder or a drive.
18. Now export all of the citations in Google folder by clicking Export All at the top. Choose EndNote from the drop down menu.
19. Go to EndNote Basic.
20. Click Collect>Import References.
21. Choose File.  Find the downloaded file in your download folder on your computer. It should be the newest file with a .enw extension. 
22. Select Import Option: EndNote Import.
23. Select the EndNote group in which you want to put the citations. 
24. Click Import.