Click here to schedule a meeting with Prof. Amelia Koford, your friendly librarian!
Your first step is to learn the basics about your psychologist: when they lived, what their major contributions were, and how they fit into the history of psychology. Don't underestimate this step. Carefully reading a few good biographical articles will go a long way in helping you perform your role.
Guess what? You can use Wikipedia! Although Wikipedia is a risky source since anyone can edit it at any time, it is a very helpful starting point for learning background information and putting facts in context. The References section at the bottom of any Wikipedia article will point you to published information.
Along with Wikipedia, you will probably want to look for another biographical article in a published reference work.
Provides full-text access to over 75,000 articles; 23,000 biographies; 44,600 images and maps; over 2150 animations, videos, and sound clips; Year in Review (1993-present); World Data Analyst; Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary & Thesaurus, Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of Quotations; and links for thousands of full-text primary sources (e-books and documents).
One useful book in the print reference section is the Biographical Dictionary of Psychology. Go to the reference section (main floor of the library) to find the dictionary, then look for the call number (REF BF109.A1 Z85). To see whether your psychologist is included, look in the index at the back of the dictionary.
Biographical Dictionary of Psychology by