Librarians offer in-depth research help.
During library open hours, ask at the main desk for help finding what you need. The desk is usually staffed by student workers - if you have in-depth research questions, just let them know that you want to meet with a librarian.
Click on the Ask a Question tab on the right side of a library web page. It will bring you either to live chat, or to a place where you can leave a message.
830-372-8100 (main desk)
Library directory (list of individual library staff and faculty)
Finding and using books is can provide background material as you begin your research. The Blumberg Memorial Library has many e-books as well as print books. Use PrimoDiscovery to access the collections.
|
|
Reference books can provide background material and be a launching point for further research. You can search for e-reference items in Primo Discovery by finding the Source Types limiter in the sidebar and limiting to Reference Entries.
The following are some examples of reference books in Chemistry.
Wiley's English-Spanish, Spanish-English Chemistry Dictionary by 
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Named Processes in Chemical Technology by 
CRC Handbook of Basic Tables for Chemical Analysis by You can also search for e-reference items using our e-book collections such as the following:
Formerly named "Gale Virtual Reference Library" or "Gale Literature eBooks for Artemis," Gale EBooks provides simultaneous and individual searching of electronic encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Provides full text access to over 620 online reference works (encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotations, bilingual dictionaries, measurement conversions, images, and more).
The library catalog is the gateway to finding books on your subject. Search the PrimoDiscovery for books by using key words on your research topic. Examples could be "inorganic chemistry" or "radiation chemistry." You could narrow your search by using AND with multiple words or phrases such as silica AND gel. You can also limit the results to books on the left side of the results page.
Blumberg Memorial Library arranges materials by the Library of Congress Classification System. Books on Chemistry generally fall into the following call numbers:
Chemistry QD
Inorganic Chemistry QD 146-197
Organic Chemistry QD 241-441
Physical Chemistry QD 450-801
Chemical Technology TP
The books could be in the circulating collection or in the reference collection.
For more information follow this link:
