Librarians offer in-depth research help.
During library open hours, ask at the main desk for help finding what you need. The desk is usually staffed by student workers - if you have in-depth research questions, just let them know that you want to meet with a librarian.
Click on the Ask a Question tab on the right side of a library web page. It will bring you either to live chat, or to a place where you can leave a message.
830-372-8100 (main desk)
Library directory (list of individual library staff and faculty)
Searching in library databases allows you to find the full text of scholarly articles as well as citations to articles. To see all of TLU's databases, visit the Blumberg Memorial Library Resources page and select either databases by Subject or by Title.
Here are a few key databases for Chemistry:
Provides citations and abstracts to over 10,000 journals (including the fields of chemistry, biology, physics, math, and computer science). It also provides access to patents from more than 57 patent authorities. Access can be limited to organic and inorganic substances, chemical structures or biological sequences, reactions, research topic, author, or company. TLU users must create a username and password in order to access SciFinder-n.
Provides citations, full text, and images from over 50 scholarly publications of the American Chemical Society.
Provides access to full-text reviews in (1) Biochemistry, v.66(1997)-v.88(2019); (2) Ecology, Evolution, and Systematics, v.27(1996)-v.50(2019); (3) Entomology, v.41(1996)-v.64(2019); (4) Microbiology, v.50(1996)-v.73(2019); and (5) Psychology, v.47(1996)-v.70(2019). Full-text reviews in Genetics, v.30(1996)-v.43(2009); full-text reviews in Physical Chemistry, v.47(1996)-v.59(2008). Beginning in 2020, the library began a pay-per-view deposit account allowing the library Interlibrary Loan staff to download full-text articles from all 50+ journals published by Annual Reviews. TLU users must send the citation to ill@tlu.edu to request us to provide the full-text article.
Provides full text for nearly 3,200 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Provides citations and abstracts to 2000+ scholarly journals in physical sciences, engineering, life & health sciences, social sciences, and humanities. The library will obtain ScienceDirect articles for TLU faculty, students, and staff once they click ORDER DOCUMENT, first by requesting the article through normal Interlibrary Loan channels, and if unobtainable, then, by purchasing the article from ScienceDirect. ScienceDirect will prompt users to login or register and create a username and password. Users must provide their TLU email address because Interlibrary Loan/ORDER DOCUMENT requests are accepted only from TLU email addresses. Allow 7-10 days for delivery.
Provides citations and abstracts to reference works, books, and databases published by Wiley in all the science disciplines; provides full-text access to "open access journals or journal articles" and to journals to which TLU subscribes. Document delivery is provided for TLU patrons submitting an ILL article request for more than 1338 journals participating in Copyright Clearance Center's Get-It-Now service.
|
|
To see if a journal or magazine is available, either online or in print, look in the Publications by Title list.