Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If you have any questions about locating, evaluating, incorporating, and citing sources, please feel free to ask a librarian.
Welcome to the research guide for Theology at TLU!
1: Find background information in reference books
2. Need books or ebooks? Search the Library Catalog
The Library Catalog is the gateway to finding books. Search the catalog for books about Christian ethics, Bible commentaries, or Hinduism. More instructions on how to find a book are at this link.
Blumberg Memorial Library arranges materials by the Library of Congress Classification System. Books on theology generally fall into the following call numbers:
3. Need articles? Search the databases
Databases allow you to find scholarly articles. To see all of TLU's databases, visit the library's list of databases by Subject or by Title.
Here are a few key databases for theology:
Religious and Theological Abstracts Online This link opens in a new window
Provides summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology. It currently abstracts more than 400 journals, with summaries produced by a team of scholars from around the world. Coverage includes journals relating to Christianity, Judaism, and other world religions. Allows searching for a particular Scripture citation, e.g. Isaiah 55 or John 3:16.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nearly 3,200 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
The Religion & Philosophy Collection is a comprehensive database covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
QuickSearch for Theology This link opens in a new window
QuickSearch allows you to search several databases and the library catalog at once. The QuickSearch below is limited to full-text resources within the discipline of Theology. Remember that QuickSearch does not include all of TLU's resources and does not allow you to use many of the specialized features of individual databases.
--Using databases off-campus--
If you are using an off-campus computer, you will be prompted for your last name (Not your network username but last name only) and your 8-digit TLU number.
Need an item that our library doesn't own? No worries, you can email the title, author and date of what you need to email@example.com or fill out a form. We can get most (but not all) articles within 2 days and many books within 4-8 days.
For more information, visit our interlibrary loan page.
--Finding a particular journal--
To see if a journal or magazine is available, either online or in print, look in the Publications by Title list.
--Evaluate and cite sources--
Ask a Librarian
TLU librarians offer in-depth research help.
Chat or Text
Ask a Question: The system will prompt you to send a text or an email, or a live chat if a librarian is available.
During library open hours, ask at the main desk for help finding what you need or help setting up an appointment with a librarian.