Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the research guide for Sociology at TLU!
Please feel free to contact a librarian with any questions about locating, evaluating, incorporating, and citing sources.
1: Find background information in reference books
Reference books can provide background material and be a launching point for further research. The following titles are great starting points, but you can find many more in the library catalog advanced search with the Location limited to Reference. You can also search for e-reference items using our Gale Virtual Reference Library or Credo Reference.
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology by
Call Number: REF HM425 .B53 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Encyclopedia of Social Deviance by
Call Number: REF HM811 .E53 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Key Sociological Thinkers by
Call Number: REF HM51 .K43 2008
Publication Date: 2007-11-15
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice
Call Number: REF HV6017 .E52 2002
Publication Date: 2001
2. Need books or ebooks? Search the Library Catalog
The Library Catalog is the gateway to finding books. Search the catalog using keywords like race relations or criminal law.
Blumberg Memorial Library arranges materials by the Library of Congress Classification System. Books on sociology generally fall into the following call numbers:
How to find a book
3. Need articles? Search the databases
Databases allow you to find scholarly articles. To see all of TLU's databases, visit the Blumberg Memorial Library Resources page and select either databases by Subject or by Title.
Here are a few key databases for Sociology:
QuickSearch This link opens in a new window
Click on Advanced Search and select the Sociology checkbox.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Although, as the name implies, PsycINFO focuses on psychology, it also indexes a large number of sociology journals.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nearly 3,200 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
TLU librarians offer in-depth research help.
Use the "Ask a Question" link. If we are not online at the time, it will send us an email instead of a chat.
During library open hours, ask at the main desk for help finding what you need or help setting up an appointment with a librarian.
--Finding a particular journal--
To see if a journal or magazine is available, either online or in print, look in the Publications by Title list.
Need an item that our library doesn't own? No worries, you can email the title, author and date of what you need to email@example.com or fill out a form. We can get most (but not all) articles within 2 days and many books within 4-8 days.
For more information, visit our interlibrary loan page.
--Using databases off-campus--
If you are using an off-campus computer, you will be prompted for your last name (Not your network username but last name only) and your 8-digit TLU number.
--Evaluate and cite sources--
Census Bureau Data
The official United States Census Bureau data platform.
American Community Survey
"ACS is a mandatory, ongoing statistical survey that samples a small percentage of the population every year -- giving communities the information they need to plan investments and services."
Census of Population and Housing
Zipped files of complete volumes. They are very large, but once they’re downloaded they are collections of PDFs. They go back to 1790 but not every year has full state data.
Published Census Volumes
Like the link above. While not as complete this page makes it easier than the zip files to find quick PDFs of Census reports.