Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Psychology Research Guide: Welcome

Welcome

If you have any questions about locating, evaluating, incorporating, and citing sources, please feel free to ask a librarian.

Welcome to the research guide for Psychology at TLU!

1: Find background information in reference books

Reference books can provide background material and be a launching point for further research. You can find many more in the library catalog advanced search with the Location limited to Reference. You can also search for e-reference items using our Gale Virtual Reference Library or Credo Reference.

2. Need books or ebooks? Search the Library Catalog

The Library Catalog is the gateway to finding books on psychology. Search the catalog for books about cognition, personality, or social psychology.

 

Advanced Search

​Blumberg Memorial Library arranges materials by the Library of Congress Classification System. Books on psychology generally fall into the following call numbers:

Psychology          BF
Psychiatry            RC 435-571

How to find a book

3. Need articles? Search the databases

Databases are large, searchable collections of articles, including scholarly articles. To see all of TLU's databases, visit the Blumberg Memorial Library Resources page and select either Databases by Subject or Databases by Title. The Databases by Subject pages also include links to recommended websites.

The key database for Psychology is PsycINFO:

All Psychology guides

Your Friendly Neighborhood Librarian

Profile Photo
Amelia Koford
Contact:
Library Office 115
830-372-8138
Website

--Finding a particular journal--

To see if a journal or magazine is available, either online or in print, look in the Publications by Title list.

--Interlibrary Loan--

Need an item that our library doesn't own? No worries, you can email the title, author and date of what you need to ill@tlu.edu or fill out a form. We can get most (but not all) articles within 2 days and many books within 4-8 days. 

For more information, visit our interlibrary loan page.

--Using databases off-campus--

If you are using an off-campus computer, you will be prompted for your last name (Not your network username but last name only) and your 8-digit TLU number.

--Evaluate and cite sources--

Ask a Librarian

Reference desk

TLU librarians offer in-depth research help.

Chat or Text

Ask a Question: The system will prompt you to send a text or an email, or a live chat if a librarian is available. 

Visit

During library open hours, ask at the main desk for help finding what you need or help setting up an appointment with a librarian. 

Email

librarian@tlu.edu

Call

830-372-8100

Connect

Twitter
Facebook
Instagram