Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
1: Find background information in reference books
Reference books can provide background material and be a launching point for further research. The following titles are just a few examples.
2. Need books or ebooks? Search the Library Catalog
The Library Catalog is the gateway to finding books. Commonly used terms for nursing items are Nursing, Allied Health, and Evidence-based. Nursing books will tend to be in the RT section.
Many of our nursing books are ebooks, these will have an eb at the end of the call number and may be accessed electronically.
Ebook Nursing Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to 671 nursing books (as of 7/19/2019) designed for use in hospitals, medical institutions, and academic institutions with nursing or allied health programs. This subscription collection features hand-selected, quality titles that focus on the needs of nursing professionals, including clinical guides, evidence-based practice manuals, practical handbooks, and professional growth titles.
R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The R2 Digital Library provides full-text access to 29 open-access health ebooks. Nursing faculty and students can also access ebooks the library selected to be in the Patron-Driven-Acquisition (PDA) nursing collection. Each title in the PDA collection extends 3 full-text accesses, counted at the session level, for each title. This means that when a user is in a PDA ebook, the user has unlimited full-text access to that ebook in that session. When a PDA ebook has been accessed in 3 separate sessions, an automatic email is sent to the library recommending the ebook be purchased. Access to that ebook then reverts to table of contents only. Whether or not the library purchases the ebook depends on available funding.
3. Need articles? Search the databases
Databases allow you to find scholarly articles, disease overviews, care sheets, book chapters, and more. To see a full list of TLU's databases related to nursing, go to the Nursing Databases page. Here are a few of the key databases and tutorials:
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete provides full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature), with no embargo, as well as health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets and quick lesson disease overviews, and continuing education modules. CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature. Basic Searching Tutorial
-- Advanced Searching Tutorial
OvidSP This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to journal articles related to athletic training, sports medicine, nursing & health professions, behavioral sciences, basic sciences, as well as humanities & technologies. Full-text access to 29 key nursing journals (including the American Journal of Nursing) and to open-access articles. Basic Searching Tutorial
-- Advanced Searching Tutorial
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database
Provides full-text access to health care evidence from evidence-based recommended practices, evidence summaries, best practice information sheets, systematic reviews, consumer information sheets, systematic review protocols, and technical reports. From a TLU PC, users must first create a personal logon to use the evidence-based practice tools which include: Journal Club, RAPID (Rapid Assessment Protocol Internet Database), TAP (Thematic Analysis Program), and Sumari (System for the Unified Management, Assessment and Review of Information). 6-minute overview
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Premium
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Premium provides abstracting and indexing for more than 850 titles, with over 715 titles in full-text, plus more than 12,000 full text dissertations representing scholarship in nursing and allied health fields.
Gale One File: Nursing and Allied Health
Gale One File: Nursing and Allied Health provides full-text journal articles (primarily those indexed in CINAHL) pertaining to specialized care, treatment and management of patients, and nursing applications related to caring for AIDS patients, dealing with accident and trauma victims, supporting cardiovascular surgery, giving emergency care, developing policy, providing neonatal care, relieving pain, serving the elderly, administering CPR, delivering babies, operating specialized equipment, keeping records, and more.
Ovid Evidence Based Medicine Reviews This link opens in a new window
Consists of the ACP Journal Club (American College of Physicians) and 6 Cochrane Library databases: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment, and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
TLU librarians offer in-depth research help.
Use the "Ask a Question" link. If we are not online at the time, it will send us an email instead of a chat.
During library open hours, ask at the main desk for help finding what you need or help setting up an appointment with a librarian.
Finding research instruments like questionnaires, tests, and scales can be challenging. Many of them are proprietary and must be requested from publishers. Some cost money to use.
Here are some strategies for finding instruments:
- Instruments are sometimes reprinted in research articles. They are usually appended at the end of the article. As you research your topic, keep an eye out for articles that include instruments! If you find an article where the authors describe an instrument that you want to use, but the full instrument isn't reprinted in the article, you can email the authors to ask whether they would be willing to share it with you.
- In CINAHL, look at the Advanced Search screen. After you enter your search terms in the top box, scroll down to the Publication Type menu. Choose "Questionnaire/Scale" and run the search. This will find articles that used questionnaires and scales. Some of the articles will include the reprinted questinnaire/scale, and some won't. There is not a way to limit your search to only articles that contain copies of instruments.
- Some instruments are available for free on the Web. Here is another library's list of some places to find instruments: http://libguides.sjsu.edu/c.php?g=230361&p=1528370
See all our Nursing guides
Handout - Pyramid of resources
This PDF handout lists TLU's nursing resources according to the 6S model: Systems, Summaries, Synopses of Syntheses, Syntheses, Synopses of Studies, and Studies.
CITI Program Training
Follow this link to TLU's Human Subject Research (HSR) training, required for all Principal Investigators (student, faculty or staff) prior to submitting a protocol to the Institutional Review Board (IRB).
CITI Program Training
Texas Lutheran University offers selected trainings through Collaborative Institutional Training Initiative (CITI) Program. CITI is a reputable program used by many Institutions of Higher Education as their primary source for research training. Human Subject Research training and Conflict of Interest training
--Using databases off-campus--
If you are using an off-campus computer, you will be prompted for your last name (Not your network username but last name only) and your 8-digit TLU number.
--Suggested Web resources--
MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
Authoritative patient-education materials
--Evaluate and cite sources--
Need an item that our library doesn't own? No worries, you can email the title, author and date of what you need to firstname.lastname@example.org or fill out a form. We can get most (but not all) articles within 2 days and many books within 4-8 days.
For more information, visit our interlibrary loan page.
--Finding a particular journal--
Search for a particular journal: