Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If you have any questions about locating, evaluating, incorporating, and citing sources, please feel free to ask a librarian.
Welcome to the research guide for Computer Science at TLU!
1: Find background information in reference books
2. Need books or ebooks? Search the Library Catalog
The Library Catalog is the gateway to finding books on computer science. Search the catalog for books about UNIX, database management, or XML.
Blumberg Memorial Library arranges materials by the Library of Congress Classification System. Books on computer science generally fall into the following call numbers:
How to find a book
3. Need articles? Search the databases
Databases are large, searchable collections of articles, including scholarly articles. To see all of TLU's databases, visit the Blumberg Memorial Library Resources page and select either Databases by Subject or Databases by Title. The Databases by Subject pages also include links to recommended websites.
Here are a few key databases for computer science:
Provides the latest information and current trends in high technology, including full text for nearly 300 publications and indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications.
Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Provides full-text, citations, and abstracts for journals, books, reports, proceedings, and patents.
Computer Science eBook Package (SpringerLink)
Provides full-text e-books published by Springer in the area of computer science. The library owns the 2005-2011 collections of e-books.
Computer Science eJournal Package (SpringerLink)
Provides journals published by Springer in the area of computer science. The library owns the 2005-2011 collections of e-books.
Science & Technology Collection
Provides access to over 800 full-text journals on topics such as astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, physics, and archaeology. This collection is a subset of Academic Search Complete.
Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for nearly 3,200 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
--Finding a particular journal--
To see if a journal or magazine is available, either online or in print, look in the Publications by Title list.
Need an item that our library doesn't own? No worries, you can email the title, author and date of what you need to firstname.lastname@example.org or fill out a form. We can get most (but not all) articles within 2 days and many books within 4-8 days.
For more information, visit our interlibrary loan page.
--Using databases off-campus--
If you are using an off-campus computer, you will be prompted for your last name (Not your network username but last name only) and your 8-digit TLU number.
--Evaluate and cite sources--
Ask a Librarian
TLU librarians offer in-depth research help.
Chat or Text
Ask a Question: The system will prompt you to send a text or an email, or a live chat if a librarian is available.
During library open hours, ask at the main desk for help finding what you need or help setting up an appointment with a librarian.