Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the research guide for Communications at TLU!
If you have any questions about locating, evaluating, incorporating, and citing sources, please feel free to ask a librarian.
1: Find background information in reference books
Reference books can provide background material and be a launching point for further research. The following titles are great starting points, but you can find many more in the library catalog advanced search with the Location limited to Reference. You can also search for e-reference items using our Gale Virtual Reference Library or Credo Reference.
Encyclopedia of Communication and Information
Call Number: ref P87.5 .E53 2001
Publication Date: 2001
Dictionary of Communication and Media Studies by
Call Number: ref P87.5 .W38 2000
Publication Date: 2000
Encyclopedia of Politics, the Media, and Popular Culture by
Call Number: ref P95.82.U6 C62 2009
Publication Date: 2009
2. Need books or ebooks? Search the Library Catalog
The Library Catalog is the gateway to finding books. Search the catalog for books about speeches, film, gender, culture, or media.
Blumberg Memorial Library arranges materials by the Library of Congress Classification System. Books on communications generally fall into the following call numbers:
How to find a book
3. Need articles? Search the databases
Databases allow you to find scholarly articles. To see all of TLU's databases, visit the Blumberg Memorial Library Resources page and select either databases by Subject or by Title.
Here are a few key databases for Communications:
Communications & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for about 200 journals as well as citations and abstracts to additional journals.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to almost 300 scholarly journal titles, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nearly 3,200 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
QuickSearch for Communications This link opens in a new window
QuickSearch allows you to search several databases and the library catalog at once. The QuickSearch below is limited to full-text resources within the discipline of Communication & Mass Media. Remember that QuickSearch does not include all of TLU's resources and does not allow you to use many of the specialized features of individual databases.
4. Evaluate and cite sources
TLU librarians offer in-depth research help.
Use the "Ask a Question" link. If we are not online at the time, it will send us an email instead of a chat.
During library open hours, ask at the main desk for help finding what you need or help setting up an appointment with a librarian.
--Finding a particular journal--
To see if a journal or magazine is available, either online or in print, look in the Publications by Title list.
Need an item that our library doesn't own? No worries, you can email the title, author and date of what you need to firstname.lastname@example.org or fill out a form. We can get most (but not all) articles within 2 days and many books within 4-8 days.
For more information, visit our interlibrary loan page.
--Using databases off-campus--
If you are using an off-campus computer, you will be prompted for your last name (Not your network username but last name only) and your 8-digit TLU number.
--Suggested Web resources--
American Press Institute
A nonadvocacy, nonprofit organization, API offers up fact-checking resources and in-depth research reports, as well as news metrics.
The Data Journalism Handbook
This ebook will give you a sense of how to get started with data journalism and where to look if you want to go further.
A suite of analytical tools to help you investigate topics, identify relationships between influential stories and sources, and better understand media coverage.
Pew Research Center Journalism & Media
Articles on social media and journalism and trends in news media, as well as interactive content.
Today's Front Pages
Through a special agreement with more than 2,000 newspapers worldwide, the Newseum displays today's front pages each day. The front pages are in their original, unedited form.
Communications News from NPR