Librarians offer in-depth research help.
During library open hours, ask at the main desk for help finding what you need. The desk is usually staffed by student workers - if you have in-depth research questions, just let them know that you want to meet with a librarian.
Click on the Ask a Question tab on the right side of a library web page. It will bring you either to live chat, or to a place where you can leave a message.
Text your question to 830-490-1213.
830-372-8100 (main desk)
Staff directory (list of individual library staff and faculty)
Searching in library databases allows you to find the full text of scholarly articles as well as citations to articles. To see all of TLU's databases, visit the Blumberg Memorial Library Resources page and select either databases by Subject or A-Z.
Here are a few key databases for Art.
Provides citations to articles in journals and books that discuss art, antiques, archaeology, architechure and architechtural history, computers in art, crafts, decorative arts, fashion design, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape architechture, motion pictures, museology, non-Western art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, television, textiles, and video. Provides citations to reproductions of works of art that appear in periodicals.
Provides full text for nearly 3,200 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Gale OneFile: Fine Arts is a periodical database that places articles in the hands of serious students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. Databases such as the Wilson Art Index and the Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale (RILM) index are available in full text. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
Search across Artstor plus other openly accessible image and primary source collections on JSTOR. Find exactly what you need: Search by media type or color (try van gogh blue), browse by collection, geography, or classification, and save as you go.
|
|
To see if a journal or magazine is available, either online or in print, look in the Publications by Title list.