Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If you have any questions about locating, evaluating, incorporating, and citing sources, please feel free to ask a librarian.
Welcome to the research guide for Dramatic Media at TLU!
1: Find background information in reference books
2. Need books or ebooks? Search the Library Catalog
The Library Catalog is the gateway to finding books. Some commonly used terms for drama items in the catalog are theater, motion pictures, and performing arts.
Blumberg Memorial Library arranges materials by the Library of Congress Classification System. Books about drama and film will be in the PN1600-3307 area.
3. Need articles? Search the databases
Databases allow you to find scholarly articles. To see all of TLU's databases, visit the Blumberg Memorial Library Resources page and select either databases by Subject or by Title.
Here are a few key databases for drama and film:
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nearly 3,200 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study, including humanities and drama.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors (novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers). Includes full text articles from 360 journals in addition to Contemporary Authors Online, Dictionary of Literary Biography Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, Merrian Webster Encyclopedia of Literature, Twayne's Author Series, Scribner Writer Series Online, and selected content from Gale Literary Criticism Series and other reference sources.
Play Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 31,000 classic and historical plays dating from 1949, including one-act plays, pageants, plays in verse, radio and television plays, classic drama and monologues from famous playwrights.
Ask a Librarian
TLU librarians offer in-depth research help.
Chat or Text
Ask a Question: The system will prompt you to send a text or an email, or a live chat if a librarian is available.
During library open hours, ask at the main desk for help finding what you need or help setting up an appointment with a librarian.
--Using databases off-campus--
If you are using an off-campus computer, you will be prompted for your last name (Not your network username but last name only) and your 8-digit TLU number.
--Finding a particular journal--
To see if a journal or magazine is available, either online or in print, look in the Periodicals by Title list.
--Suggested Web resources--
Practical information aimed at actors trying to get work.
The free online guide to modern playwrights and theatre plays which have been written, adapted or translated, into English since the production of Look Back in Anger in 1956.
Global Performing Arts Database records include authoritative, detailed, multilingual descriptions of digital images, texts, video clips, sound recordings, and complex media objects related to the performing arts around the world.
Internet Broadway Database archive is the official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today.
Popular online source for cast and crew lists and information about films and TV shows.
Find images, inspiration, research, and tutorials for theatrical costumes. Also find sources for armor, wigs, footwear, accessories and more.
Need an item that our library doesn't own? No worries, you can email the title, author and date of what you need to firstname.lastname@example.org or fill out a form (sign in required). We can get most (but not all) articles within 24 hours and many books within 4-8 days.
For more information, visit our interlibrary loan page.
Performing Arts News from NPR
--Evaluate and cite sources--