Librarians offer in-depth research help.
During library open hours, ask at the main desk for help finding what you need. The desk is usually staffed by student workers - if you have in-depth research questions, just let them know that you want to meet with a librarian.
Click on the Ask a Question tab on the right side of a library web page. It will bring you either to live chat, or to a place where you can leave a message.
Text your question to 830-490-1213.
830-372-8100 (main desk)
Staff directory (list of individual library staff and faculty)
Searching in library databases allows you to find the full text of scholarly articles as well as citations to articles. To see all of TLU's databases, visit the Blumberg Memorial Library Resources page and select either databases by Subject or A-Z.
Here are a few key databases for Communication.
Provides full text for nearly 3,200 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Provides access to over 80,000 videos in the areas of anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Provides full text articles from newspapers and other news sources, including almost 100 Texas news sources including Austin-American Statesman (1989-present), Dallas Morning News (1984-present), San Antonio Express News (1990-present), Houston chronicle (1985-present), and Seguin Gazette-Enterprise (2005-present).
Provides selected full text for regional, national, and international newspapers as well as television and radio news transcripts.
Provides full-text access to the New York Times (Late edition, East Coast) from June 1, 1980-present; the Daily (Podcast) from May 13, 2019-present; New York Times (Online) from Jan. 1, 1996-present; New York Times (video) Aug. 31, 2018-present; New York Times Book Review from Jan. 3, 1988-present; New York Times Español from July 26, 2020-present; and the New York Times Magazine from Jan. 5, 1997-present.
Provides over 79,000 streaming video materials with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, and more. Includes award-winning films ( Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners) and content from PBS, BBC, 60 MINUTES, National Geographic, Annenberg Learner, BroadwayHD™, A+E Networks’ HISTORY® and more). Disciplines covered include science, engineering, anthropology, criminal justice, counseling & therapy, business & economics, nursing, allied health, diversity, education, history, music & dance, and theater & drama.
|
|
To see if a journal or magazine is available, either online or in print, look in the Publications by Title list.