Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If you have any questions about locating, evaluating, incorporating, and citing sources, please feel free to ask a librarian.
Welcome to the research guide for Business and Economics at TLU!
1: Find background information in reference books
2. Need books or ebooks? Search the Library Catalog
The Library Catalog is the gateway to finding books on business. Search the catalog for books about economics, marketing, or accounting.
Blumberg Memorial Library arranges materials by the Library of Congress Classification System. Books on business generally fall into the following call numbers:
| Economic history and conditions
How to find a book
3. Need articles? Search the databases
Databases are large, searchable collections of articles, including scholarly articles. To see all of TLU's databases, visit the Blumberg Memorial Library Resources page and select either Databases by Subject or Databases by Title. The Databases by Subject pages also include links to recommended websites.
Here are a few key databases for business and economics:
Business Source Complete
Provides scholarly full text and citations to publications in management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business.
LexisNexis Academic Universe
Provides full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.
AEA (American Economic Association) Journals (citations/abstracts only)
Provides citations and abstracts only for 7 journals: American Economic Journal: Applied Economics, American Economic Journal: Macroeconomics, American Economic Journal: Microeconomics, American Economic Journal: Economic Policy, American Economic Review, Journal of Economic Perspectives, and Journal of Economic Literature. Full-text access ceased 3/1/2015.
Regional Business News
Provides full-text coverage for regional business publications, journals, newspapers, and newswires.
World Bank Database
Provides direct access to World Development Indicators (WDI), Global Development Finance (GDF), and Africa Development Indicators (ADI). World Bank Database provides more than 800 development indicators, with time series for 209 countries, and 18 country groups from 1960 to 2008, where data are available.
--Finding a particular journal--
To see if a journal or magazine is available, either online or in print, look in the Publications by Title list.
Need an item that our library doesn't own? No worries, you can email the title, author and date of what you need to email@example.com or fill out a form. We can get most (but not all) articles within 2 days and many books within 4-8 days.
For more information, visit our interlibrary loan page.
--Using databases off-campus--
If you are using an off-campus computer, you will be prompted for your last name (Not your network username but last name only) and your 8-digit TLU number.
--Evaluate and cite sources--
Ask a Librarian
TLU librarians offer in-depth research help.
Chat or Text
Ask a Question: The system will prompt you to send a text or an email, or a live chat if a librarian is available.
During library open hours, ask at the main desk for help finding what you need or help setting up an appointment with a librarian.