If you have any questions about locating, evaluating, incorporating, and citing sources, please feel free to ask a librarian.
Reference books can provide background material and be a launching point for further research. The following titles are great starting points, but you can find many more in the library catalog advanced search with the Location limited to Reference. You can also search for e-reference items using our Gale Virtual Reference Library or Credo Reference.
Encyclopedia of Evolution by 
Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology by 
The Cambridge Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution by 
Kaplan MCAT Biology Review by The Library Catalog is the gateway to finding books. Search the catalog for books with keywords like cells, botany, bacteria, environment, ecology.
Blumberg Memorial Library arranges materials by the Library of Congress Classification System. Books on Biology generally fall into the following call numbers:
| Biology | QH 301-705.5 |
| Genetics | QH 426-470 |
| Ecology | QH 540-549.5 |
| Botany | QK |
| Medcine | R |
Databases allow you to find scholarly articles. To see all of TLU's Biology databases, visit Databases by Subject - Biology.
Here are a few key databases for Biology articles:
Provides full text for nearly 3,200 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
830-372-8100
Use the "Ask a Question" link. If we are not online at the time, it will send us an email instead of a chat.
During library open hours, ask at the main desk for help finding what you need or help setting up an appointment with a librarian.
To see if a journal or magazine is available, either online or in print, look in the Publications by Title list.
Need an item that our library doesn't own? No worries, you can email the title, author and date of what you need to ill@tlu.edu or fill out a form. We can get most (but not all) articles within 2 days and many books within 4-8 days.
For more information, visit our interlibrary loan page.
If you are using an off-campus computer, you will be prompted for your last name (Not your network username but last name only) and your 8-digit TLU number.