Librarians offer in-depth research help.
During library open hours, ask at the main desk for help finding what you need. The desk is usually staffed by student workers - if you have in-depth research questions, just let them know that you want to meet with a librarian.
Click on the Ask a Question tab on the right side of a library web page. It will bring you either to live chat, or to a place where you can leave a message.
Text your question to 830-490-1213.
830-372-8100 (main desk)
Staff directory (list of individual library staff and faculty)
Searching in library databases allows you to find the full text of scholarly articles as well as citations to articles. To see all of TLU's databases, visit the Blumberg Memorial Library Resources page and select either databases by Subject or by Title.
Here are a few key databases for Mexican American Studies.
Provides full text for nearly 3,200 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines.
Provides full text for 6863 unique titles published between 1684 and 1912. This collection documents the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. It covers advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.
Provides access to 28,281 full-text electronic books, which may also be located in the TLU Library Catalog. If you want to download entire ebooks to your PC or a mobile device, read about Adobe Digital Editions (http://bulldogs.tlu.edu/library/adobe.html).
Provides full-text access to 200 multi-disciplinary Spanish-language scholarly academic journals from Latin American and Spanish publishers.
Provides full-text feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama and poetry in all fields of the humanities from art, classical studies, and film to journalism and more.
Platform to search all ProQuest databases to which TLU subscribes. As of 9/14/2022, this includes Academic Video Online, Consumer Health Database, Coronavirus Research Database, Ebook Central, GeoRef, Health Research Premium Collection (including MEDLINE and Psychology Database), Military Database, Nursing & Allied Health Premium, ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Austin American Statesman (1871-1980), Publicly Available Content Database, SciTech Premium Collection, Science Database, Twentieth-Century American Poetry, and Twentieth-Century English Poetry.
This resource provides a sole focus on content relating specifically to the relationship between races. It is a rich source of bibliographic records covering fundamental areas relevant to race relations. Specific areas covered include ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline, as listed.
Provides full-text access -- in Spanish -- to more than 150 multidisciplinary reference books, 50 general interest magazines, 2500 health reports, 1 million images with captions in Spanish.
|
|
To see if a journal or magazine is available, either online or in print, look in the Publications by Title list.