Librarians offer in-depth research help.
During library open hours, ask at the main desk for help finding what you need. The desk is usually staffed by student workers - if you have in-depth research questions, just let them know that you want to meet with a librarian.
Click on the Ask a Question tab on the right side of a library web page. It will bring you either to live chat, or to a place where you can leave a message.
830-372-8100 (main desk)
Library directory (list of individual library staff and faculty)
Finding and using books is can provide background material as you begin your research. The Blumberg Memorial Library has many e-books as well as print books. Use PrimoDiscovery to access the collections.
|
|
Reference books can provide background material and be a launching point for further research. You can search for e-reference items in Primo Discovery by finding the Source Types limiter in the sidebar and limiting to Reference Entries.
The following are some examples of reference books in education.
The SAGE Guide to Educational Leadership and Management by 
Discussion-Based Online Teaching to Enhance Student Learning : Theory, Practice and Assessment by 
Theories of Learning and Studies of Instructional Practice by You can also search for e-reference items using our e-book collections such as the following:
Provides full-text access to over 75,000 articles; 23,000 biographies; 44,600 images and maps; over 2150 animations, videos, and sound clips; Year in Review (1993-present); World Data Analyst; Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary & Thesaurus, Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of Quotations; and links for thousands of full-text primary sources (e-books and documents).
Provides full-text access to ebooks from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas along with powerful research tools. Through the TexShare library consortium, as of 9/2022, TLU users have access to \the "E-Libro Premium" collection (101,454 Spanish titles); the "Academic Complete eBook Package" (225,000 titles); the "Reference eBook Subscription" (1010 titles); and the "Health & Medicine eBook Subscription" (250 titles). Instructions to install Adobe Digital Editions: https://bulldogs.tlu.edu/library/pdf/adobedigital.pdf
Provides access to 28,281 full-text electronic books, which may also be located in the TLU Library Catalog. If you want to download entire ebooks to your PC or a mobile device, read about Adobe Digital Editions (http://bulldogs.tlu.edu/library/adobe.html).
The library catalog is the gateway to finding books on your subject. Search the PrimoDiscovery for books by using key words on your research topic. You can limit the results to books on the left side of the results page.
Blumberg Memorial Library arranges materials by the Library of Congress Classification System. Books on education generally fall into the following call numbers:
For more information follow this link:
Use the big PrimoDiscovery box on the library homepage to search for books, articles, and videos all at once. Check the peer reviewed box if you need peer-reviewed articles. Check "Physical Resourc in Library" if you want only books or other resources that are physically located in the library.
On the results page, use the boxes on the left side of the screen to limit your results by date, type of source, or more.
