African American Studies

Provides full text for nearly 3,200 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.

JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines.

Provides full text for 6863 unique titles published between 1684 and 1912. This collection documents the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. It covers advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.

Provides full-text access to primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history. Users will find historical newspaper articles, pamphlets, diaries, correspondence and more from specific time periods in U.S. history marked by the opposition African Americans have faced on the road to freedom. Educators may use this material to teach a specific topic or person, such as Frederick Douglass or the Abolitionist Movement, to introduce students to using primary sources and to help researchers develop essential critical thinking and information literary skills. The content is curated around six time periods:  (1) Resistance to Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860); (2) The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877); (3) Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932); (4) The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945); (5) The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975); and (6) The Contemporary Era (1976-2000). 

This curated selection of primary sources is freely available on the open Web. 

The "Gun Regulation and Legislation in America" collection provides citations to articles in journals, legislative histories, reports, Congressional hearings, U.S. Supreme Court briefs, monographs,and other material on regulating firearms in the U.S. Links to open-access material is also included. The "Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law" collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.

Provides full-text access to essential historical records for African American family history research, including Federal Census, Marriage and Cohabitation Records, Military Draft and Service Records, Registers of Slaves and Free(d) Persons of Color, Freedman's Bank, and more.

This resource provides a sole focus on content relating specifically to the relationship between races. It is a rich source of bibliographic records covering fundamental areas relevant to race relations. Specific areas covered include ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline, as listed.