Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If you have any questions about locating, evaluating, incorporating, and citing sources, please feel free to ask a librarian.
Welcome to the research guide for Physics at TLU!
1: Find background information in reference books
2. Need books or ebooks? Search the Library Catalog
The Library Catalog is the gateway to finding books on physics. Search the catalog for books about quantum theory, magnetism, or sound.
Blumberg Memorial Library arranges materials by the Library of Congress Classification System. Books on physics generally fall into the following call numbers:
How to find a book
3. Need articles? Search the databases
Databases are large, searchable collections of articles, including scholarly articles. To see all of TLU's databases, visit the Blumberg Memorial Library Resources page and select either Databases by Subject or Databases by Title. The Databases by Subject pages also include links to recommended websites.
Here are a few key databases for physics:
Science Online This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to Science peer-reviewed research articles (1997-present) in addition to scientific news and commentary written by scientists. Provides citations and abstracts to past issues (1880-1996). References are linked to citations and related resources in MEDLINE/PubMed, Google Scholar, HighWire Press, and more. Science articles rank among the world's most cited research.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nearly 3,200 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
IOP Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 60 journal titles published by the Institute of Physics covering different areas of science and engineering, which together provide access to more than 400,000 articles from 1874 to the present day. Many full-text articles are freely available.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to over 10,000 journals (including the fields of chemistry, biology, physics, math, and computer science). It also provides access to patents from more than 57 patent authorities. Access can be limited to organic and inorganic substances, chemical structures or biological sequences, reactions, research topic, author, or company. TLU users must create a username and password in order to access SciFinder-n.
QuickSearch for Physics This link opens in a new window
QuickSearch allows you to search several databases and the library catalog at once. The QuickSearch below is limited to full-text resources within the discipline of Physics. Remember that QuickSearch does not include all of TLU's resources and does not allow you to use many of the specialized features of individual databases.
--Finding a particular journal--
To see if a journal or magazine is available, either online or in print, look in the Publications by Title list.
Need an item that our library doesn't own? No worries, you can email the title, author and date of what you need to email@example.com or fill out a form. We can get most (but not all) articles within 2 days and many books within 4-8 days.
For more information, visit our interlibrary loan page.
--Using databases off-campus--
If you are using an off-campus computer, you will be prompted for your last name (Not your network username but last name only) and your 8-digit TLU number.
--Evaluate and cite sources--
Ask a Librarian
TLU librarians offer in-depth research help.
Chat or Text
Ask a Question: The system will prompt you to send a text or an email, or a live chat if a librarian is available.
During library open hours, ask at the main desk for help finding what you need or help setting up an appointment with a librarian.