Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If you have any questions about locating, evaluating, incorporating, and citing sources, please feel free to ask a librarian.
Welcome to the research guide for Chemistry at TLU!
1: Find background information in reference books
2. Need books or ebooks? Search the Library Catalog
The Library Catalog is the gateway to finding books on chemistry. Search the catalog for books about chemistry, organic, chemical reactions, or polymers.
Blumberg Memorial Library arranges materials by the Library of Congress Classification System. Books on chemistry generally fall into the following call numbers:
Inorganic Chemistry QD 146-197
Organic Chemistry QD 241-441
Physical Chemistry QD 450-801
Chemical Technology TP
How to find a book
3. Need articles? Search the databases
Databases are large, searchable collections of articles, including scholarly articles. To see all of TLU's databases, visit the Blumberg Memorial Library Resources page and select either Databases by Subject or Databases by Title. The Databases by Subject pages also include links to recommended websites.
Here are a few key databases for chemistry:
Provides citations and abstracts to over 10,000 journals (including the fields of chemistry, biology, physics, math, and computer science). It also provides access to patents from more than 57 patent authorities. Access can be limited to organic and inorganic substances, chemical structures or biological sequences, reactions, research topic, author, or company. TLU users must create a username and password in order to access SciFinder-n.
ACS (American Chemical Society) Publications
Provides citations, full text, and images from over 50 scholarly publications of the American Chemical Society.
Provides access to full-text reviews in (1) Biochemistry, v.66(1997)-v.88(2019); (2) Ecology, Evolution, and Systematics, v.27(1996)-v.50(2019); (3) Entomology, v.41(1996)-v.64(2019); (4) Microbiology, v.50(1996)-v.73(2019); and (5) Psychology, v.47(1996)-v.70(2019). Full-text reviews in Genetics, v.30(1996)-v.43(2009); full-text reviews in Physical Chemistry, v.47(1996)-v.59(2008). Beginning in 2020, the library began a pay-per-view deposit account allowing the library Interlibrary Loan staff to download full-text articles from all 50+ journals published by Annual Reviews. TLU users must send the citation to email@example.com to request us to provide the full-text article.
Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for nearly 3,200 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
--Finding a particular journal--
To see if a journal or magazine is available, either online or in print, look in the Publications by Title list.
Need an item that our library doesn't own? No worries, you can email the title, author and date of what you need to firstname.lastname@example.org or fill out a form. We can get most (but not all) articles within 2 days and many books within 4-8 days.
For more information, visit our interlibrary loan page.
--Using databases off-campus--
If you are using an off-campus computer, you will be prompted for your last name (Not your network username but last name only) and your 8-digit TLU number.
--Evaluate and cite sources--
Ask a Librarian
TLU librarians offer in-depth research help.
Chat or Text
Ask a Question: The system will prompt you to send a text or an email, or a live chat if a librarian is available.
During library open hours, ask at the main desk for help finding what you need or help setting up an appointment with a librarian.