Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If you have any questions about locating, evaluating, incorporating, and citing sources, please feel free to ask a librarian.
Welcome to the research guide for English at TLU!
1: Find background information in reference books
2. Need books or ebooks? Search the Library Catalog
The Library Catalog is the gateway to finding books on literature. Search the catalog for books about criticism, Harlem Renaissance, or an individual author.
Blumberg Memorial Library arranges materials by the Library of Congress Classification System. Books on literature generally fall into the following call numbers:
Language and Literature P
English Language PE
English Literature PR
American Literature PS
How to find a book
3. Need articles? Search the databases
Databases are large, searchable collections of articles, including scholarly articles. To see all of TLU's databases, visit the Blumberg Memorial Library Resources page and select either Databases by Subject or Databases by Title. The Databases by Subject pages also include links to recommended websites.
Here are a few key databases for English:
MLA International Bibliography
Provides citations to journal articles, books, and dissertations, with links to many full-text resources (produced by the Modern Language Association).
Gale Literary Databases
Provides simultaneous searching of Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography.
JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines.
Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for nearly 3,200 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Twentieth-Century Amercian Poetry
Provides full text to 50,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 American poets.
Twentieth-Century English Poetry
Provides full-text access to 598 volumes of poetry by 283 English poets from 1900-present, including the poets in The Faber Poetry Library.
QuickSearch for English Language & Literature
QuickSearch allows you to search several databases and the library catalog at once. The QuickSearch below is limited to full-text resources within the disciplines of Literature & Writing. Remember that QuickSearch does not include all of TLU's resources and does not allow you to use many of the specialized features of individual databases
--Finding a particular journal--
To see if a journal or magazine is available, either online or in print, look in the Publications by Title list.
Need an item that our library doesn't own? No worries, you can email the title, author and date of what you need to email@example.com or fill out a form. We can get most (but not all) articles within 2 days and many books within 4-8 days.
For more information, visit our interlibrary loan page.
--Using databases off-campus--
If you are using an off-campus computer, you will be prompted for your last name (Not your network username but last name only) and your 8-digit TLU number.
--Evaluate and cite sources--
Ask a Librarian
TLU librarians offer in-depth research help.
Chat or Text
Ask a Question: The system will prompt you to send a text or an email, or a live chat if a librarian is available.
During library open hours, ask at the main desk for help finding what you need or help setting up an appointment with a librarian.