Librarians offer in-depth research help.
During library open hours, ask at the main desk for help finding what you need. The desk is usually staffed by student workers - if you have in-depth research questions, just let them know that you want to meet with a librarian.
Click on the Ask a Question tab on the right side of a library web page. It will bring you either to live chat, or to a place where you can leave a message.
830-372-8100 (main desk)
Library directory (list of individual library staff and faculty)
Searching in library databases allows you to find the full text of scholarly articles as well as citations to articles. To see all of TLU's databases, visit the Blumberg Memorial Library Resources page and select either databases by Subject or by Title.
Here are a few key databases for English.
Provides citations to journal articles, books, and dissertations, with links to many full-text resources (produced by the Modern Language Association).
JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines.
Provides full text for nearly 3,200 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Provides full text to 50,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 American poets.
Provides full-text access to 598 volumes of poetry by 283 English poets from 1900-present, including the poets in The Faber Poetry Library.
|
|
To see if a journal or magazine is available, either online or in print, look in the Publications by Title list.
Provides access to book reviews on a wide range of topics from a variety of sources, including newspapers, review journals and popular magazines.
Provides citations to approximately 65,000 essays contained in 5300 anthologies and collections in the humanities (literary criticism, art history, drama, and film) and social sciences (economics, political science, history).
Provides citations to journal articles, books, and dissertations, with links to many full-text resources (produced by the Modern Language Association).