Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the research guide for Geography at TLU!
If you have any questions about locating, evaluating, incorporating, and citing sources, please feel free to ask a librarian.
1: Find background information in reference books
Reference books can provide background material and be a launching point for further research. The following titles are great starting points, but you can find many more in the library catalog advanced search with the Location limited to Reference. You can also search for e-reference items using our Gale Virtual Reference Library or Credo Reference.
Companion Encyclopedia of Geography by
Call Number: ref G116 .C645 2007
Publication Date: 2006
Despite its title, this revised edition is not an encyclopedia in the traditional sense but a rich and fascinating collection of 64 essays exploring the myriad facets of human and physical geography, from tectonics to geopolitics; from virtual places to consumer impacts and conservation.
Encyclopedia of Geography Terms, Themes, and Concepts by
Call Number: ref G63 .H375 2011
Publication Date: 2011
This handbook offers a broad coverage of terminology and concepts, serving as both an encyclopedic dictionary of geography terms and an approachable overview to the human and physical aspects of world geography.
Complete Atlas of the World, 2nd Edition by
Call Number: Atlas Stand G1021 .D2775 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Complete Atlas of the World features four sections: a world overview, the main atlas, fact files on all the countries of the world, and an easy-to-reference index of all 100,000 place names.
2. Need books or ebooks? Search the Library Catalog
The Library Catalog is the gateway to finding books. Search the catalog for books about geography, GIS, or specific country names.
Blumberg Memorial Library arranges materials by the Library of Congress Classification System. Books on Geography generally fall into the following call numbers:
Mathematical Geography GA
Physical Geography GB
How to find a book
3. Need articles? Search the databases
Databases allow you to find scholarly articles. To see all of TLU's databases, visit the Blumberg Memorial Library Resources page and select either databases by Subject or by Title.
Here are a few key databases for Geography:
SpringerLink Geography This link opens in a new window
A collection of 29 geography full-text geography journals from SpringerLink. Also offers the option to search citations for more journals.
QuickSearch for Geography This link opens in a new window
QuickSearch allows you to search several databases and the library catalog at once. The QuickSearch below is limited to full-text resources within the disciplines of Geography & Cartography. Remember that QuickSearch does not include all of TLU's resources and does not allow you to use many of the specialized features of individual databases.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nearly 3,200 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
TLU librarians offer in-depth research help.
Use the "Ask a Question" link. If we are not online at the time, it will send us an email instead of a chat.
During library open hours, ask at the main desk for help finding what you need or help setting up an appointment with a librarian.
--Finding a particular journal--
To see if a journal or magazine is available, either online or in print, look in the Publications by Title list.
Need an item that our library doesn't own? No worries, you can email the title, author and date of what you need to firstname.lastname@example.org or fill out a form. We can get most (but not all) articles within 2 days and many books within 4-8 days.
For more information, visit our interlibrary loan page.
--Using databases off-campus--
If you are using an off-campus computer, you will be prompted for your last name (Not your network username but last name only) and your 8-digit TLU number.
Suggested Web resources
Forest Service GeoData Clearinghouse
The USDA Forest Service Geodata Clearinghouse is an online collection of digital data related to forest resources. Through the Clearinghouse you can find datasets related to forests and grasslands, including boundaries and ownership, natural resources, roads and trails, as well as datasets related to State and private forested areas, including insect and disease threat and surface water importance.
Offers GIS news, tutorials, jobs, downloads and more.
National Geologic Map Database
Developing a distributed archive of standardized geoscience information for the nation.
National Map Small-Scale Collection
The National Map collection of 197 small-scale datasets can be downloaded. The National Map small-scale web map and feature services can be accessed at WMS/WFS TNM Small-Scale.
TopoView highlights one of the USGS's most important and useful products, the topographic map. The maps shown through topoView are from the USGS’s Historical Topographic Map Collection (HTMC). The goal of this scanning, which started in 2011, is to provide a digital repository of USGS 1:250,000 scale and larger (more detailed) maps printed between 1884 (the inception of the topographic mapping program), and 2006.
Water Resources of the United States
Maps and GIS Data. Downloadable spatial data files for exploration and analysis.
Geography News from the New York Times
--Evaluate and cite sources--