Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If you have any questions about locating, evaluating, incorporating, and citing sources, please feel free to ask a librarian.
Welcome to the research guide for History at TLU!
1: Find background information in reference books (tertiary sources)
Reference books can provide background material and be a launching point for further research. You might hear these books referred to as tertiary sources. The following titles are great starting points, but you can find many more in the library catalog advanced search with the Location limited to Reference. You can also search for e-reference items using our Gale Virtual Reference Library or Credo Reference.
Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History
Call Number: ref E169.1 .E624 2001
Publication Date: 2001
These three volumes are an attempt to comprehend the ever-changing character and rich variety of American thought and expression.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America by
Call Number: ref E184 .A1 G14 2014 v.1
Publication Date: 2014
Gale Encyclopedia Of Multicultural America contains 152 original essays (about 8,000-12,000 words each) on specific minority and ethnic groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns.
World War I by
Call Number: ref D510 .W68 2016
Publication Date: 2016
In "World War I: The Essential Reference Guide," detailed reference entries, a comprehensive overview essay, plus additional examinations of the causes and consequences of the conflict provide readers with the context needed to understand all aspects of World War I.
World War II by
Call Number: ref D743 .W6658 2012
Publication Date: 2012
"World War II: The Essential Reference Guide" provides a comprehensive overview of the major events, campaigns, battles, personalities, and issues of World War II, supplemented by a selection of primary-source documents.
2. Need books or ebooks? Search the Library Catalog
The Library Catalog is the gateway to finding books. Search the catalog for books about specific history topics, such as World War, Civil War, civil rights, or specific names of people or countries.
Blumberg Memorial Library arranges materials by the Library of Congress Classification System. Books on history generally fall into the following call numbers:
History (General) D
History (America) E-F
How to find a book
3. Need articles? Search the databases
Databases allow you to find scholarly articles. To see all of TLU's databases, visit the Blumberg Memorial Library Resources page and select either databases by Subject or by Title.
Here are a few key databases for history.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
America: History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes over 450,000 bibliographic entries.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to almost 300 scholarly journal titles, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
Opinion Archives This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to several periodicals, some dating back to the early 20th century.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nearly 3,200 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
QuickSearch for History This link opens in a new window
QuickSearch allows you to search several databases and the library catalog at once. The QuickSearch below is limited to full-text resources within the History discipline. Remember that QuickSearch does not include all of TLU's resources and does not allow you to use many of the specialized features of individual databases.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines.
--Suggested Web resources--
Additional web resources are listed on the History databases page.
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Civil Rights Digital Library
The struggle for racial equality in the 1950s and 1960s is among the most far-reaching social movements in the nation's history. The Civil Rights Digital Library promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials.
Documenting the American South
Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture.
DPLA Primary Source Sets
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) Primary Source Sets are designed to help students develop critical thinking skills by exploring topics in history, literature, and culture through primary sources.
Making of America
Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
Portal to Texas History
The Portal to Texas History contains more than a half million items for you to explore about the history of Texas.
TLU librarians offer in-depth research help.
Use the "Ask a Question" link. If we are not online at the time, it will send us an email instead of a chat.
During library open hours, ask at the main desk for help finding what you need or help setting up an appointment with a librarian.
See all our History guides
--Finding a particular journal--
To see if a journal or magazine is available, either online or in print, look in the Publications by Title list.
Need an item that our library doesn't own? No worries, you can email the title, author and date of what you need to firstname.lastname@example.org or fill out a form. We can get most (but not all) articles within 2 days and many books within 4-8 days.
For more information, visit our interlibrary loan page.
--Using databases off-campus--
If you are using an off-campus computer, you will be prompted for your last name (Not your network username but last name only) and your 8-digit TLU number.
History News from the Smithsonian
--Evaluate and cite sources--