Librarians offer in-depth research help.
During library open hours, ask at the main desk for help finding what you need. The desk is usually staffed by student workers - if you have in-depth research questions, just let them know that you want to meet with a librarian.
Click on the Ask a Question tab on the right side of a library web page. It will bring you either to live chat, or to a place where you can leave a message.
830-372-8100 (main desk)
Library directory (list of individual library staff and faculty)
Searching in library databases allows you to find the full text of scholarly articles as well as citations to articles. To see all of TLU's databases, visit the Blumberg Memorial Library Resources page and select either databases by Subject or by Title.
Here are a few key databases for History.
Provides full text for nearly 3,200 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Provides citations to 450,000 resources on the history of the U.S. and Canada (prehistory-present). (Limited to 6 simultaneous users.)
JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines.
Provides full-text access to several periodicals, some dating back to the early 20th century. (Limited to 14 simultaneous users)
Provides full text for 6863 unique titles published between 1684 and 1912. This collection documents the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. It covers advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.
|
|
To see if a journal or magazine is available, either online or in print, look in the Publications by Title list.