Librarians offer in-depth research help.
During library open hours, ask at the main desk for help finding what you need. The desk is usually staffed by student workers - if you have in-depth research questions, just let them know that you want to meet with a librarian.
Click on the Ask a Question tab on the right side of a library web page. It will bring you either to live chat, or to a place where you can leave a message.
830-372-8100 (main desk)
Library directory (list of individual library staff and faculty)
Searching in library databases allows you to find the full text of scholarly articles as well as citations to articles. To see all of TLU's databases, visit the Blumberg Memorial Library Resources page and select either databases by Subject or by Title.
Here are a few key databases for Kinesiology & Athletic Training.
Provides full text (including abstracts) to serial and monographic literature on sports, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law and legislation, disabled athletes, sports facility design and management, intramural and school sports, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention, rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health and therapy. As of 9/2019, it contains 807 full-text resources that include academic journals, conference papers, conference proceedings, dissertations, grey literature, industry reports, magazines, market research reports, newspapers, reports, and trade publications.
Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. The database offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.
Provides full text for nearly 3,200 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
CINAHL Complete provides full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature), with no embargo, as well as health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets and quick lesson disease overviews, and continuing education modules. CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature. Basic Searching Tutorial -- Advanced Searching Tutorial
Provides full-text access to over 5000 medical resources essential for medical students and researchers. The collection offers a central access point to a variety of essential medical resources that includes "Consumer Health Database," "Health and Medical Collection," "MEDLINE," "Nursing and Allied Health Database," "Healthcare Administration Database," "Psychology Database," and "Public Health Database."
|
|
To see if a journal or magazine is available, either online or in print, look in the Publications by Title list.