Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If you have any questions about locating, evaluating, incorporating, and citing sources, please feel free to ask a librarian
Welcome to the subject guide for women's studies research at TLU!
1: Find background information in reference books
2. Need books, ebooks or videos? Search the Library Catalog
The Library Catalog is the gateway to finding books on women's studies. Some commonly used terms in the catalog are Feminism, Gender, Masculinity, and Women--[country name].
Blumberg Memorial Library arranges materials by the Library of Congress Classification System. Books on women's studies generally fall into the following call numbers:
|The family, marriage, women
|| BJ 1395
|British women authors
|| PR 111-116
|American women authors
|| PS 147-152
3. Need articles? Search the databases
Use databases to find articles from newspapers, magazines, or scholarly journals.
To see all of TLU's databases, visit the Blumberg Memorial Library Resources page and select either databases by Subject or by Title.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nearly 3,200 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
America: History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes over 450,000 bibliographic entries.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Covers psychology and related fields.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines.
QuickSearch This link opens in a new window
Simultaneously searches a wide variety of databases in addition to the library catalog. Provides access to hundreds of thousands of articles, books, ebooks, and more.
--Using databases off-campus--
If you are using an off-campus computer, you will be prompted for your last name (Not your network username but last name only) and your 8-digit TLU number.
--Finding a particular journal--
To see if a journal or magazine is available, either online or in print, look in the Periodicals by Title list.